Kieślowski Film School, University of Silesia in Katowice


Kieślowski Film School is a faculty of a University of Silesia in Katowice, Poland. Established in 1978 it is one of two public film schools in Poland with a rich portfolio of well-known filmmakers who taught and also graduated the school. 

The most known Polish directors associated with the school are Krzysztof Zanussi, Bartosz Konopka (Academy Award nomination in 2010), Maciej Pieprzyca, Agnieszka Smoczyńska, Jan P. Matuszynski, Piotr Domalewski.

Students from Kieślowski Film School were awarded nine times at the Camerimage Festival, including four Golden Tadpoles, two Silver Tadpoles, two Bronze Tadpoles and one Blue Tadpole for the best film of the decade. At the same time students’ short films are presented and awarded at national and international festivals (e.g. Gdynia Film Festival, Kraków Film Festival, T-Mobile New Horizons International Film Festival, Camerimage, Cottbus, San Sebastian, Clermont-Ferrand, Tampere, Santiago de Compostela , Kyoto, Munich, New York, Aspen, Vilnius, Kiev and Bratislava). 

The production of the short films is financed by grants from the state budget and from the operational programs of Polish Film Institute. 

Kieslowski Film School offers courses in film directing, cinematography and film production. The latest MA course offered by the School, Creative Management in New Media is taught entirely in English. 

Kieślowski Film School together with the Academy of Music in Katowice and the Academy of Fine Arts in Katowice, are included to the leading educational institutions in the field of art located in the region. The School plays an important culture-forming role in Poland.




School’s Highlights